Mendota community URGENTLY seeks assistance

Update from Linda M. Brown, Mendota Community: (03/11/99)

From Linda M. Brown: Dear Friends, we had a great day at the capitol today, we spent about an hour with Senator Gary Laidig he is from Stillwater MN and has had dealings with MNDOT before, he was outraged about the destruction that this road would cause to this beautiful area. He has agreed to work with us and be our champion, he went with us to the Senate Transportation committee [which he is amember of] and pulled 4 Senators out of the meeting and asked them to meet with us, He also talked to Rep. Tom Workman about having a hearing for us and he agreed to do that. We are still working on Rep. Rhodes and would prefer to have the hearing heard in the Govt Ops. committee, but we will take whatever we can get at this point. We will now have to refocus on the Represenatatives that sit on the House Transportation committee. Here are their names and other info please get in touch with these people, especially if you are a constituent.

Chair Tom Workman [R] phone 651-296-5066
Chanhassen, zip 55317

Vice Chair James Clark  [R] phone 651-296-9303
Springfield, zip 56087

Alice Hausman  phone 651-296-3824
St. Paul, zip 55108

Mark Buesgens [R] phone 651-296-1072
Jordan, zip 55352

Len Biernat, [DFL] Phone 651-296-4219
Minneapolis, zip 55418

Gergory Davids, [R] phone 612-296-9278
Preston, zip 55965, ,

Barb Haake, [R] phone 651-296-0141
Mounds View, zip 55112-4309

Alice Johnson, [DFL] phone 651-296-5510
Spring Lake Park, zip 55432

Al Juhnke, [DFL] phone 651-296-6206
Willmar, zip 56201

Henry Kalis phone 651-296-4240
Walters, zip 56097
Margeret Anderson Kelliher, [DFL] phone 651-296-0171
Minneapolis, zip 55405

William Kuisle, [R] phone 651-296-4378
Rochester, zip 55902

Dan Larson, [DFL] phone 651-296-7158
Bloomington, zip 55425

Bernie Lieder, [DFL] phone 651-296-5091
Crookston, zip 56716

Sharon Marko, [DFL] phone 651-296-3135
Cottage Grove, zip 55016

Carol Molnau, [R] phone 651-296-8872
Chaska, zip 55318

Joe Opatz phone 651-296-6612
St. Cloud, zip 56304

Michelle Rifenberg [R] phone 651-296-1069
La Crescent, zip 55947

Howard Swenson phone 651-296-8634
Nicollet, zip 56074

Henry Todd Van Dellen [R] phone 651-296-5511
Plymouth, zip 55446

Ray Vandeveer [R] phone 651-296-4124
Forest Lake, zip 55025

Torrey Westrom [R] phone 651-296-4929
Elbow Lake, zip 56531, ,
Please contact all these people asap. Also please thank Senator Laidig, and Len Biernat from the house Transportation committee is already with us. O.K. everyone go to work. I won't be at the capitol tomorrow, I need to stay at home and organize for a hearing if we get one. Leo and others will be there and we still have appts. set up for next week. I'll keep you informed. Love Linda

Additional Email addresses for Senators and Reps.
The Mendota are a non-profit organization and reciepts will be supplied for
those who request them.  Send donations to:
Checks or money orders may be made payable to MMDC.
     Mendota Medewakanton Dakota Community
     PO Box 50835
     Mendota, MN 55150
Contact numbers are Linda M. Brown - (612) 944-7290 FAX (612) 944-0105 or Bob Brown, Chairman - (612) 576-9686 FAX (612) 576-0632 We ask that everyone send what they it money or supplies. PLEASE HELP PROTECT OUR SACRED SITES!

AICS main page

Send comments to: Webmaster