Mendota community URGENTLY seeks assistance


Update from Linda M. Brown, Mendota Community: (03/16/99)

From Linda M. Brown: Dear Friends, we had a setback again in the legislation today, last thursday Tom Workman, Chanhassen, Chair, house transportation committee, told myself and 3 others that were lobbying as well as Senator Gary Leidig, he would hear our bill, he also told Mike Haney on Monday not to worry that something would be worked out. Today he made a decision to not hear the bill, this was heartbreaking news for us. We now have to go back to Rep. Rhodes and again ask him to hear this bill in his committee. We have spent so much time running around trying to get these people to honor their words, we are all exhausted. I quess I just need some R&R. We still have 3 days to get this bill heard, I quess we are having some effect I heard today that the Representatives and Senators have been complaining about all the phone calls, emails, etc. they are getting on this issue. We need to thank Senator Gary Leidig for standing up in the full senate chamber today and stating that this bill should be heard, and ask why was no chair was willing to do this. If we don't get the hearing we will attack this legislation from a different direction, so please hang in there with your support and prayers. We need to again thank Senator Ellen Anderson for authoring this bill for us against so much opposition as well as Representative Mark Gleason and Representative Karen Clark, and all the others that did not buckle under to all the pressure from their own colleagues. They are truly our Heroes. My prayers are with all of you and we need to stay strong. Pidamiya, :Love Linda


Chair Tom Workman [R] phone 651-296-5066
Chanhassen, zip 55317
rep.tom.workman@house.leg.state.mn.us

Vice Chair James Clark  [R] phone 651-296-9303
Springfield, zip 56087
rep.james.clark@house.leg.state.mn.us

Alice Hausman  phone 651-296-3824
St. Paul, zip 55108
rep.alice.hausman@house.leg.state.mn.us

Mark Buesgens [R] phone 651-296-1072
Jordan, zip 55352
rep.mark.buesgens@house.leg.state.mn.us

Len Biernat, [DFL] Phone 651-296-4219
Minneapolis, zip 55418
rep.len.biernat@house.leg.state.mn.us

Gergory Davids, [R] phone 612-296-9278
Preston, zip 55965, ,
rep.gergory.davids@house.leg.state.mn.us

Barb Haake, [R] phone 651-296-0141
Mounds View, zip 55112-4309
rep.barb.haake@house.leg.state.mn.us

Alice Johnson, [DFL] phone 651-296-5510
Spring Lake Park, zip 55432
rep.alice.johnson@house.leg.state.mn.us

Al Juhnke, [DFL] phone 651-296-6206
Willmar, zip 56201
rep.al.juhnke@house.leg.state.mn.us

Henry Kalis phone 651-296-4240
Walters, zip 56097
rep.henry.kalis@house.leg.state.mn.us
 ,
Margeret Anderson Kelliher, [DFL] phone 651-296-0171
Minneapolis, zip 55405
rep.margaret.kelliher@house.leg.state.mn.us

William Kuisle, [R] phone 651-296-4378
Rochester, zip 55902
rep.william.kuisle@house.leg.state.mn.us

Dan Larson, [DFL] phone 651-296-7158
Bloomington, zip 55425
rep.dan.larson@house.leg.state.mn.us

Bernie Lieder, [DFL] phone 651-296-5091
Crookston, zip 56716
rep.bernie.lieder@house.leg.state.mn.us

Sharon Marko, [DFL] phone 651-296-3135
Cottage Grove, zip 55016
rep.sharon.marko@house.leg.state.mn.us

Carol Molnau, [R] phone 651-296-8872
Chaska, zip 55318
rep.carol.molnau@house.leg.state.mn.us

Joe Opatz phone 651-296-6612
St. Cloud, zip 56304
rep.joe.opatz@house.leg.state.mn.us

Michelle Rifenberg [R] phone 651-296-1069
La Crescent, zip 55947
rep.michelle.rifenberg@house.leg.state.mn.us

Howard Swenson phone 651-296-8634
Nicollet, zip 56074
rep.howard.swenson@house.leg.state.mn.us

Henry Todd Van Dellen [R] phone 651-296-5511
Plymouth, zip 55446
rep.henrytodd.vandellen@house.leg.state.mn.us

Ray Vandeveer [R] phone 651-296-4124
Forest Lake, zip 55025
rep.ray.vandeveer@house.leg.state.mn.us

Torrey Westrom [R] phone 651-296-4929
Elbow Lake, zip 56531, ,
rep.torrey.westrom@house.leg.state.mn.us


Additional Email addresses for Senators and Reps.
The Mendota are a non-profit organization and reciepts will be supplied for
those who request them.  Send donations to:
Checks or money orders may be made payable to MMDC.
     Mendota Medewakanton Dakota Community
     PO Box 50835
     Mendota, MN 55150
Contact numbers are Linda M. Brown - (612) 944-7290 FAX (612) 944-0105 or Bob Brown, Chairman - (612) 576-9686 FAX (612) 576-0632 We ask that everyone send what they can...be it money or supplies. PLEASE HELP PROTECT OUR SACRED SITES!


AICS main page


Send comments to: Webmaster